Prasad Lad trounced Dilip Mane in Council by-poll

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)’s state unit vice-president Prasad Lad won by-poll election as it was expected in political circle.

Lad not only got 209 votes but also manged to split nine votes of the Congress and Nationalist Congress Party (NCP). He trounced Dilip Mane, a joint candidate of Congress and NCP. Mane got only 73 votes. Lad’s victory will have an impact in neighbouring state Gujarat which is witnessing high-voltage campaign for the phase one election scheduled on Saturday.

In the 288-member legislative assembly, 284 members used their franchise on Thursday. Of these, two votes were declared invalid by the election commission due to inaccurate mark on the ballot paper. The Shiv Sena legislator Arjun Khotkar was not allowed to cast his vote as his membership has been cancelled by the Bombay High Court. NCP legislator Chhagan Bhujbal was not allowed to take part in by-poll.

The Congress candidate Mane was expected to get 89 votes in which Congress has 42 votes, NCP 41, three from Peasants and Workers Party and three each from Samajwadi Party, Bharip Bahujan Mahasangh and Communist Party of India (Marxist). All India Majlis-e-Uttehad Muslmeen did not take part in the by-poll and remained absent from voting.

About Absolute India

Powered by